Aula Riunioni DII,  piano 6
Largo Lucio Lazzarino, 1
2 e 3  MAGGIO 2018
Ore  10.00 – 12.00

Mark W. Spong
Dean, Erik Jonsson School of Engineering &
Computer Science
Lars Magnus Ericsson Chair in Electrical Engineering
University of Texas at Dallas

Mercoledì, 2 maggio 2018: Passivity-Based Control in Robotics

In this talk we will give an historical account of the origins and uses of passivity-based control in robotics.  In particular, we will show how the passivity paradigm has enabled fundamental results in bilateral teleoperation, adaptive and robust control, bipedal locomotion, hybrid and switching control, and synchronization of multi-agent systems.  Both theoretical and experimental results will be shown.

Giovedì, 3 maggio 2018: Control of Underactuated Mechanical Systems

Underactuated systems are those with fewer actuators than degrees of freedom.  Examples of underactuated systems include the familiar inverted pendulum on a cart, as well as practical systems such as walking robots, mobile robots, flexible-joint robots, gymnastic, flying, and hopping robots.  In this talk we will discuss the application of geometric nonlinear control theory, passivity-based control and hybrid/switching control for the control of underactuated systems.



Mark W. Spong received the Doctor of Science degree in systems science and mathematics in 1981 from Washington University in St. Louis. and is currently Professor of Systems Engineering, Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and holder of the Excellence in Education Chair in the Erik Jonsson School of Engineering and Computer Science at the University of Texas at Dallas. He was Dean of the Jonsson School at UT Dallas from 2008-2017. Dr. Spong is Past President of the IEEE Control Systems Society, and a Fellow of both the IEEE and the IFAC. His main research interests are in robotics, mechatronics, and nonlinear control theory. He has authored or coauthored more than 300 technical articles, five books and holds one patent. His notable awards include the 2018 Bode Lecture Prize from the IEEE Control Systems Society, the 2016 Nyquist Lecture Prize from the ASME, the 2011 Pioneer in Robotics Award from the IEEE Robotics and Automation Society, the  first IROS Fumio Harashima Award for Innovative Technologies in 2007, the Senior Scientist Research Award from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, the Distinguished Member Award from the IEEE Control Systems Society, the John R. Ragazzini and O. Hugo Schuck Awards from the American Automatic Control Council, and the IEEE Third Millennium Medal.